Nice Tattoo Meet You

 

I live in the UK where we need Sky TV to watch shows such as LA INK. My beau and I visited her mum on New year’s Eve to grieve the end of December, my favourite month. January raises its ugly head with the bright glare of daylight on New Year’s Day and I watch LA INK at her mum’s apartment and continue to watch it at any opportunity (which wasn’t as much as I would have hoped due to nine-year old nephew’s cartoon preference and random neighbours calling in unannounced).

I love this show! I love the stories that are behind the tattoos, I love when there’s not much of a story and it is just an amazing design. I love the confidence the tattoo artists have in creating the tattoos and that the customer always, always LOVES their tat. (Really?!)

I have wanted a tattoo for a long time but I don’t know if I will ever actually do it.* Meanwhile, I like to admire tattoos for the artwork and bow down to their permanence.  I have made a list of tattoos. Are there any here you would get/detest/think I should get?

*I actually had a dream last night that I got a tattoo of number 2 (see below) exactly where I said it would look good. I was very excited but when I looked at it (in the mirror, the way they do in LA Ink!) it was awful! They hadn’t done it right at all. It was just a blue triangle. The tattooist said, “do you like it?” and I said, “Um, I can’t quite see because of the angle”. The dream made me want one even more though.

1)      Lego tattoo

It’s simple and small and it would make people smile. Lego was my favourite toy as a kid and I still have a nostalgic love for it.

2)      Diamond

I like this for the sheer fact that it looks pretty cool. I like cartoonish tattoos with lots of colour and this looks fun. There’s something about it that makes me smile. I think it would look good just below the elbow on the underside of the arm. I once had the idea of getting the hearts and rupees from the original Zelda as a tattoo and this is a similar design to the rupee.

3)      Talkboy tattoo

Courtesy of chelseakirchoffillustration.blogspot.com

Ok, so this isn’t a tattoo but a drawing of a talkboy from the popular Christmas family movie Home Alone 2: Lost In New York. Home Alone 1 and 2 are two of my favourite movies. I think it would be cool to commemorate that, and remember all the joy they have given me over the years. Watching movies like that gives you an hour and a half of pure happiness. It doesn’t have to be a talkboy or from Home Alone but what do you think about tattoos that acknowledge either childhood favourites like Lego or Zelda or favourite movies? It seems to be a running theme for me…

4)      Anchor tat

I like this because it incorporates the diamond plus two traditional tattoo symbols – the anchor and the rose. These are two tattoos that people usually think of when they think of a tattoo. That and the classic “Mom” written on a banner teamed with a red heart. I like “typical” tattoos although did anyone see the guy on LA INK who got a pirate skull and daggers that looked exactly like Pirates of the Caribbean? Fail.

5)      Cassette tapes

Music lovers should get this. Music lovers who were born pre-90s. I can’t describe why I like this. I just think having a cassette tape on your arm is funny. Geeky badass?

6)      Text message/keyboard heart

I couldn’t find a decent photo of this anywhere. A good tattoo for the first-timer probably. No one would barely notice it. Love in modern times. Talking about modern technological tattoos, would you ever get say, the apple icon or even twitter or facebook?!

7)      Back to basics with…the naked pin up.

Would you ever get a naked woman on your arm? I can think of many other things I’d rather do with a naked woman.

8)    Whilst looking for the Talkboy tattoo and coming across the blog chelseakirchoffillustration.blogspot.com, where I found the drawing, another drawing caught my eye and I thought it would make a good tattoo: this accordion:

I like the design and style of drawing, and the detail. I think it would look good on someone’s forearm.

Do you like tattoos? Would you get a “queer-related” tattoo? Show me yours!

One thought on “Nice Tattoo Meet You

  1. Pingback: #5 Best In Show: Boxers « queerotackybeau

Leave a Reply

